Flux Capacity

If you’ve ever experienced burnout, you’re likely sensitive to what caused it, and cautious in your commitments. And yes, I’m speaking from experience.  

I’ve gone through a degree of burnout on two occasions. Both times were a result of trying to please others by overcommitting and over-pressuring myself. Both ended in a season of sabbatical, recovery, and redirection.  

Burnout is not the worst thing to experience, and we should not be embarrassed or ashamed if we do.  We can  use it to foster growth and balance. 

Because I’ve experienced burnout, and never want to again, it’s been hard for me at times to wrap my natural mind around His calling on my life. Staying at home, with my family and Netflix is a happy place. I’m about as introverted as they come, and yet, God has called me to pioneer a global-sized ministry.  

I’m like, “Seriously?” Just give me my pillow and a remote control and I’m happy. 

However, when I look at the cross, and at Jesus, I’m compelled to act on this amazing love. My reality is that I desire more than anything, for the Lamb who was slain to receive the glory due His name.

The big question is….how do you change the world without burning out? Recently, the Lord gave me a key.  

I was visiting a local church and during the worship time I had an image in my mind of the flux capacitor from  “Back to the Future.” I heard God say, “I’m giving you flux CAPACITY…..the capacity to be both productive and rest at the same time.”  
  

This word deeply encouraged my soul. I’m ready & nervous for the MORE He’s calling me to. A part of me is excited and full of anticipation to see what He’s about to do, and another part of me is scared of getting exhausted again. 

Only God can do something so supernatural as energizing us while we labor. What am I learning? It’s all about abiding. As I’m in Him and He’s in me, we labor together…I’m just a tool He can work though. Hear that? He does the work, my job is to simply yield to Him.

Since He gave me this word, there’s been a greater peace and ability to be productive and at rest at the same time.

And that right there gives me so much reason to be still and worship Him. 

“Dwell in Me, and I will dwell in you. [Live in Me, and I will live in you.] Just as no branch can bear fruit of itself without abiding in (being vitally united to) the vine, neither can you bear fruit unless you abide in Me.”

‭‭John‬ ‭15:4‬ ‭AMP‬‬

Leave a comment