My Political Musings – Why I Think and Feel the Way I Think and Feel.

 

 “I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”   C.S. Lewis

 

I’m a Christian.   I don’t believe any one is born a Christian. A person must choose to become a Christ follower.  Memories of my life before I was following Jesus remind me to be thankful for the gift of His presence I now experience.  I’ve done nothing to deserve His love and forgiveness. I’ve simply chosen to accept the gift He offers.  I believe someday I will leave this earth and be with my savior for all of eternity.  He has given me so much and to live for Him seems a very small thank you.  I could never repay Him for what He has done; dying in my place so that I can have everlasting life and a joy filled one on earth until then. 

 

One thing I love about my America is that each person has a right to their own opinions and beliefs. My political beliefs are derived from my own value system. That’s true for everyone….from the President to the homeless person living on the street.  Our values shape the way each one of us thinks.  There are Christians on both sides of the political system because they are embracing the party they feel best represents their Christ centered beliefs.  This current Presidential election is one of the most interesting ones I’ve observed in my lifetime.  The two candidates are opposite of one another on almost every issue.  It makes deciding who to vote for pretty easy if you are passionate about the issues that they are supporting. 

 

I’m relieved that no matter what the outcome of this election is, Jesus will still be on the throne.   I do believe that it’s vitally important that we pray for our leaders and for those who will become our leaders.  We must pray for God to ordain men and women who will carry Righteousness and Justice in their hearts.   After all…those two things are the very foundation of God’s throne.   The Facebook profile lists “Political Views” and in that space I wrote:  “Heaven’s Justice….He will make all things new.“  This election, or any election for that matter, is not about which party I support, but instead about the need to have leaders in place who will make decisions which support Righteousness and Justice.   I feel that each one of us is responsible to prayerfully consider what this might mean for our nation’s future.

This year there are many issues on the table, jobs and the economy, heath care, foreign threats, the placement of new Supreme Court Justices, and on and on.  It isn’t always easy to prioritize what deserves the most importance.  One look at the Declaration of Independence helps cut through the blur.  “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”  Life is listed first and I agree.  Of all the pressing things facing America today the issue of Life has to be the most important.

God’s love is wherever there is a spark of life.  His love is for the little girl with Down’s syndrome, the sick elderly woman, and the young boy sold into sexual slavery.  God has spoken to Christians and we are responsible to see that widows and orphans are cared for, the hungry are fed, and the prisoner remembered.   We cry together as we see examples of life gone unprotected on the news, such as an abducted child who is abused and killed.  The world is not always a pretty place, but God’s love is bigger.  And that love extends to the unborn child, growing in the womb, wanting nothing more than the chance to live.

We all agree what happened to the Jews during WWII was wrong. It was horrific and causes us to ask how could human beings be capable of such evil? They were flesh and blood people just like us.  How were they able to carry out a holocaust & still sleep at night?  In their minds they were doing something they thought that was justified.  The really believed that they were right, but Righteousness and Justice show that they were really…really wrong.  They had believed a lie that they thought was true, and that means they were deceived.  At some point the blinders came off and the world was in shock that such an evil had been allowed to happen.

God loves life.  He created life. He has said in His word that we are not to extinguish life.  Yet a great deception continues on the earth today.  The numbers exceed many of the great tragedies of the past and continue to climb each day.  40,000,000 Americans will not vote in this election because they were not given the choice to live.

Isaiah 32:1-4 says,

 “See, a king will reign in righteousness
    and rulers will rule with justice.
Each one will be like a shelter from the wind
and a refuge from the storm,
like streams of water in the desert
    and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land.

Then the eyes of those who see will no longer be closed,
and the ears of those who hear will listen.
The fearful heart will know and understand,
and the stammering tongue will be fluent and clear.
No longer will the fool be called noble
nor the scoundrel be highly respected.”

Please pray with me for this election.  Pray that even now eyes will be opened, an awakening will begin, and that righteousness and justice will prevail.

                                                                                                               Baby on the way announcement

One thought on “My Political Musings – Why I Think and Feel the Way I Think and Feel.

  1. well, like YEAH!, like REALLY!, like thank God He is the king-maker and don’t we just wish Jesus would ride in soon on a horse-shaped stampeding cloud?
    love
    suzeeB

    Like

Leave a Reply

