He Is Beautiful

Alicia refers to the next phase of our 7th year journey as, “a weighty, critical space together.”   I agree.  Our “God concept” can cripple us or awaken us to our destiny and identity. 

God has revealed Himself, “in part” to all of humanity. 

Since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them.  For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.”  Romans 1:19-20 NIV

Every person who lives and breathes has seen qualities of Jesus in creation.  Believers and non-believers live each day surrounded by evidence of God’s divine nature.

At the same time the deceiver is persistently attempting to distort our view of God.  If he can convince us, even just a little, that God is mean, demanding, or condemning, he will succeed in interrupting our intimacy with the Father. 

Our exercise for week 10 is to create a portrait of God and fill in this blank: “God, I think you are ______________.”

Thankfully, I’ve always had a pretty healthy God concept.  Growing up in a safe and loving home helped.  Living in a fallen world however, provides plenty of opportunities for my mind to become tainted with false truth about who my God is.   Alicia’s hope for us is that,“even slight negligence [of our God concept] would be banished by sober vigilance. “

I filled in my blank with, “Beautiful.”

At times I’m overcome with the beauty of God.  I could list several more adjectives, but Beautiful was the first thing that came to mind. 

This is the definition of beautiful:

beau·ti·ful

 1. having beauty; having qualities that give great pleasure or satisfaction to see, hear, think about, etc.; delighting the senses or mind: a beautiful dress; a beautiful speech. 

2. excellent of its kind: a beautiful putt on the seventh hole; The chef served us a beautiful roast of beef.

 3. wonderful; very pleasing or satisfying.

He is beautiful….wouldn’t you agree?

I’ve been privileged to see some amazing things in my life.  Oceans, mountains, weddings, art, baptisms, sunsets, and even a few births.  I could put every beautiful thing I’ve ever seen together and it wouldn’t measure up to the beauty of Jesus.

I can gaze a long time at a sunset or a photograph but I’ll spend eternity gazing at the beauty of God.  The more I know Him, the more I want to know Him.  Jesus beckons to be adored, admired, studied, looked at, and prized. 

Knowing Him intimately is worth more to me than anything else in life.  I relate more and more to the parable of the pearl of great price (Matthew 13).  It’s difficult for a carnal mind to understand the sacrifice a person is willing to make when they willingly abandon all, in order to gain the most beautiful thing there is.  On the other hand, a person whose mind and spirit have been awakened to His glorious beauty is one who will sacrifice, even their own life, in order to gain what is most precious and valued.

“One thing I ask from the LORD, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple.” Psalm 29:4

2 thoughts on “He Is Beautiful

  1. the beauty of water completely beckons me at every turn. in whatever form it takes, god makes it SPARKLE, and there is just something so indescribable in a sparkle. without water there wouldn’t even be rainbows.
    glitter and color, what a god, what an artist, what a mad scientist!

    love
    suzee B

    Like

Leave a Reply

