Finishing Well

There’s nothing worse than a bad ending to a good movie.  Honestly, it can take me hours to recover from the disappointment.  Watching a movie is an investment of time, resources, and emotions.  I HATE when they don’t end well.  A perfectly good movie can be ruined by a bad ending.  I’ll admit, I’ve even had to pray and forgive the people who made the movie leaving me with a rotten taste in my mouth.  The same can be said for a sermon or book that does not conclude well.  If the sense I come away with is not positive, it can ruin the whole experience.

I love a perfect ending.  It leaves me happy and satisfied.  I’ll joyfully review the story over and over in my memory. 

More important that movies, I want my life to end well.

This is what the Apostle Paul said about a good ending:

2 Timothy 4:7:

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”
 
Our current focus in the 7th year journey is to pray into and write down personal growth goals.  Alicia encouraged us to determine if we were going to write down short-term steps ( ie: for the next 3 months ), life long ones, or both.  Last week I shared some of my personal goals during this short season while my husband is away working.  The entire exercise has me thinking about why it’s important to stop, listen to the Holy Spirit, and determine these areas of focus.  Minuets turn into hours, hours into days, days into weeks, and weeks into years.  How we spend out time determines how we spend our life.  The little choices I make each day will build into how I run and ultimately finish my race.
 
 
These are two somewhat simple, but vitally important truths that can make or break how my story ends:
 
1) Cultivate intimacy with Jesus.    One of my life scriptures is, “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.” ( Matthew 5:6).   I want to stay hungry for Him and His presence all the days of my life.  Reading scripture, worshiping, praying, and soaking in His presence are ways that I cultivate intimacy with Jesus.
 
2) Forgive and heal.  I believe that holding an offence leads to brokenness in relationships with people and God.  Un-healed emotional wounds are an open door to demonic and health problems.  God is always there to offer me grace when I make the choice to forgive.  The blood of Jesus washes and cleanses the wounds in my soul.  The power of His resurrection restores every broken place as He fills me with His light and life. 
2 thoughts on “Finishing Well

  1. pam

    powerful wisdom with what you wrote here ; Minuets turn into hours, hours into days, days into weeks, and weeks into years. How we spend out time determines how we spend our life. The little choices I make each day will build into how I run and ultimately finish my race.

    meaty food for thought
    thank you,luv!

    suzee B

    Like

Leave a Reply

