My Life In God

 I was in Scottsdale, Arizona this past weekend for an Unearthing Destinies event called, “Shameless”.  If I didn’t mention this before, Unearthing Destinies is a women’s conference and event ministry that I’m privileged to direct.  We’ve been hosting events since 2008.  For me, there’s nothing more gratifying than seeing women come into an atmosphere where they can encounter God, discover more of their value, self-worth, and destiny in the Lord.  This past weekend was not any different.  Lives were deeply impacted.  After each event we host, we continue to pray that the seeds that were planted will continue to be watered.  Only in Heaven will we see all the fruit. For now we hand it back to God and trust that He will bring the increase.   In the end, all the glory belongs to Jesus.  In the end, and also in the beginning.  Every move of God has a beginning.  

My assignment for week two of The 7TH Year was to note significant moments in my journey with God.

Have you ever wondered why God chose you for a certain task?  It’s very easy to look around and see many others who seem far more qualified than yourself.  I feel the vision God has for Unearthing Destinies is much larger than I can imagine or am capable of myself.  I’m terribly unqualified, but  I am willing.  I wonder if that’s why He’s chosen me.   

So where did this dream come from anyway? 

Looking at my 7Th year exercise today I can see that it was deposited in me at a very young age, as dreams often are.  As a young girl I felt that I was born at a specific time for a specific destiny. 

Many of my significant moments with God, that I charted today, were occasions when Jesus was challenging me to say yes, 100% to His call on my life.  Many of those conversations occurred at conferences where He would have my full attention. He would gently put His finger on my heart and ask me to serve Him with every ounce of my life.  Those were really bad days for the Devil.  Nothing can move the kingdom of God faster than a servant who is willing to go regardless of any personal sacrifice or cost.

I love how God uses our entire life, even from our childhood, to shape our destiny.  I knew as a young girl that I would someday be used to set prisoners free.  I remember the day the Lord showed me a picture in my mind of many women being released from slavery.  I had no idea what it meant.  Now as my life is unfolding I can see that is God’s call on my life.  It is to set spiritual prisoners free.

It’s Isaiah 61:1-4:

 “The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
   because the LORD has anointed me
   to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
   to proclaim freedom for the captives
   and release from darkness for the prisoners,
2 to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
   and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,
 3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
   instead of ashes,
the oil of joy
   instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
   instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
   a planting of the LORD
   for the display of his splendor.

 4 They will rebuild the ancient ruins
   and restore the places long devastated;
they will renew the ruined cities
   that have been devastated for generations.”

I’ve experienced many life changing encounters at conferences, so it makes sense that He would call me to an event ministry.  Yes!  He is going to use every part of my life up to this day to build His kingdom. It can be so easy to dismiss the significant “God ordained” moments in our journeys as simple happenstance.   Can I challenge you today to reflect on your past and ask the Lord to show you those revealing moments in your life?  Those times, even from your childhood, where He was pulling back the curtain a little and showing you His true destiny.  I’d love to hear your  discoveries in the comments section!

One thought on “My Life In God

  1. pam,

    i love the line, “those were really bad days for the devil.”
    as a spoiled only child, i don’t remember much except playing as a child.
    but i do recall having a heart for kids with disabilities. somehow, god took me out of myself long enough to take time to go play with them. they were always alone.
    i don’t know, maybe that’s why i chose to become a nurse.
    i am not good at all with any ability or much of a desire to give up 100% of myself. it hardly ever happens.
    when it does, god tries to hook me with the joy of having been willing.
    my best hope is heaven, when i get a new selfless body!
    you inspire me. and i’m sure many many others since god is using you and you are WILLING!
    love
    suzee B

    Like

Leave a Reply

