Action / Adventure vs. Romance / Drama

I can’t remember the last time I was in the mood to watch a “Chick Flick”.  My top picks in Netflix are almost always of the action adventure vein.  Suspense, mystery, and solving a puzzle entertain me more than a love story.  The main character is often up against the bad guys and all by him (or her) self saving the world from destruction.   With just minuets to spare the hero pulls off a miracle and the world is saved.   I’m always on the edge of my seat anticipating how it will unfold and resolve under seemingly impossible circumstances. 

I’ve been pondering why I like these hero story lines so much.  Here are my reasons thus far:

1)  The hero knows that her role is  important.  Saving lives is her mission, goal, purpose.

2)  The hero is willing to make any personal sacrifice in order to fulfill her mission. 

 When the hero knows who she is,  she steps up to the plate, enters the game, and fulfills her destiny. 

 In real life we’ve all been given a part to play in seeing our world transformed.    It’s possible that your part is  more significant that you realize. 

Creation is anticipating our awakening. 

Romans 8:19-22

19″ For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. 20 For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope 21 thatthe creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God.

 22 We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time.”

Action and adventure is what we were created for.  We are sons and daughters of a great King who rules the universe.  He has chosen us to be a part of His plan to redeem and restore its brokenness.  I don’t know about you, but I’m game.  I’ve put my hand to the plow and I’m not looking back.  Nothing else will satisfy me more than knowing my savior intimately and being a part of what He is doing in the earth today. 

Prayer: Lord Jesus awaken me to know fully who I am and who you have called me to be.  I want to be a part of what you are doing in the earth.  Help me bring transformation to those around me as they discover who they are in you.  Fill me with the spirit of adoption and help me to see others the way you see them.  May your glory be revealed in me and through me.

4 thoughts on “Action / Adventure vs. Romance / Drama

  1. So inspiring!! I believe that when every believer really, truly ‘gets’ who they are as an heir to the throne, son/daughter of the Living God….radical, supernatural things can happen through their hands and life for the sake of this world! Impossible becomes possible with understanding, grace, and most of all His love..Thanks for sharing Pam ♥

    Like

  2. so pam,

    is the jack baur? the power of baur or however you spell keifer’s last name from 24. we were devoted fans of all that adventure and intrigue.

    what you write reminds me of stacy eldridge’s take on being a woman made for high adventure. in her book “captivating”. did you read that? you’d love it.

    i hate the suffering in god’s creation. more than anything, but and it’s a big BUT . . . we know the plan. come soon lord jesus, come soon.

    love
    suzee B

    Like

  3. oops. i meant “is THAT jack baur? ” i said “the”. course, he was “the” guy, that’s for sure.
    but maybe it’s not? but it says 24.
    i heard they were going to make a movie!

    me again

    Like

Leave a Reply

