Anticipation

I have vivid memories of being filled with anticipation as a child.  I can remember not being able to fall asleep the night before Christmas, our family trip to Disneyland, or a birthday.  I’m not sure when the lie came, but at some point I was either told or some how “learned” that anticipation like this was only reserved for childhood.  Adults were mature and did not get super excited about anything,  for sure never to the point of not being able to fall asleep.

Thankfully the lie was on a  subconscious level, as I’ve continued to get excited about up-coming events, even to the point of not being able to fall asleep.  Even a subconscious lie can create shame, or hold us back from what God has for us to experience.  One of my joys as a parent is to watch our kids anticipate and get excited about something.  I’m certain our heavenly Father feels the same way.  He’s more excited about our destiny than we are.  He knows the plans He has for us, they are good plans, to prosper us, and to see the kingdom of God expand through our influence.  He paid a great price for our destiny, and desires that we anticipate our very own future in Christ. 

Miriam Webster”s defines anticipation as: “b. the act of looking forward; especially : pleasurable expectation.”

2012 is upon us.  I’ve given myself full permission to anticipate what Jesus is going to do this year.  I get excited when I think about the kingdom of God growing through the power of the Holy Spirit, and His glory covering the earth (Isaiah 60:1)
Jesus said, ” Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.” (John 14:11-13)

I believe  we have not seen the fulfillment of  this scripture yet, but every new year is a new season to see His promise fulfilled. 

2011 for me was a year of seeing God’s sovereignty at work.   I’ve become more confident that He will fulfill every promise He has made. 

For as the soil makes the sprout come up
   and a garden causes seeds to grow,
so the Sovereign LORD will make righteousness
   and praise spring up before all nations. ”  Isaiah 61:11

And that is something to get excited about.

Prayer: Lord fill me with a greater sense of anticipation for what you are going to do in 2012.  Help my eyes to be open to see what you are doing and to be a part of it.  Transform my mind into the mind of Christ, fill me with love, humility, honor, and expectation for what you are about to do in the earth.  I pray for a great harvest, miracles, healings, signs and wonders, and for  “son’s and daughters of God” to be revealed this year.  Amen.

One thought on “Anticipation

  1. yes yes yes, you nailed it! anticipation, THE BEST. and of course you delighted me with the comments on “not believing the lie about needing to be a grownup without being kept awake at night with excitement!” EVERYBODY needs to read that on a daily basis in my opinion.
    so here’s to an outrageous year of anticipation about what god is up to in his workshop.
    love
    suzee B

    Like

Leave a Reply

