It’s Best To Give And Recieve.

We have all been taught that it’s better to give than receive.  It’s not a false statement but it’s not an entirely biblical concept either.  The economy of the kingdom is built on giving and receiving.  They are both equally godly actions.

Remember when Jesus approached Peter to wash his feet?  Here’s what happened from John 13:

 6He came to Simon Peter, who said to him, “Lord, are you going to wash my feet?”

 7 Jesus replied, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.”

 8“No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.”

  Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.”

Greed will keep us from giving,  pride will keep us from receiving.

Recieving builds relationship.  That is why Jesus told peter “unless I wash you, you have no part with me.”  The receiving was important for Peter and Jesus.  The end result was unity.

I believe that receiving is often more difficult than giving.  The Lord has been convicting me on this point lately.  He’s been challenging me to really ask for the desires of my heart.  To be honest, it’s not that easy.  I’m not sure why, but it probably stems from a deeper belief that I’m not worthy to receive the blessings and desires that are deep in my heart.   It’s almost like Jesus has been asking me how much blessing I’m willing to receive.  Finances have been tight and that makes me feel even less worthy to ask. 

I am learning though and begining to be more bold in my asking.  The Father has been faithful to remind me what He has generously provided.  As I reflect on those memorials, I’m filled with greater anticipation for what He will quickly or suddenly provide in the future.

So this is my Christmas challenge.  To be a good giver and a better receiver.  As we learn to humbly receive we will strengthen our relationships.  If we did not need one another the kingdom would weaken.  Growing in the principles of giving and receiving  will enable us to become a stronger unified force.

Give well, receive well.

Merry Christmas everyone!

Prayer: Lord Jesus, teach me to come boldly before your throne.  Help my mind to be renewed and transformed to believe that you are a good heavenly Father, who wants to bless and provide for His kids.  Help me to truly ask for the desires of my heart and to not hold back out of fear or belief in a lie.  Help me to be completely receptive to every blessing you desire to give. 

Image

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Best To Give And Recieve.

  1. pam, that photograph is a winner! did you take it?
    giving equals receiving. a good teacher of the word taught me that.
    when i feel unworthy to tell god my desires or to accept compliments or gifts, i try to remember parenthood from my human perspective. can i imaging my own child at any age coming to me with requests and me dissing her? wouldn’t i listen carefully, still knowing what will be best for her in the long run? wouldn’t i pet her and hug her and hold her hand? wouldn’t i freak out if she felt uncomfortable entering my presence?!!! i’d be sooooooooooo sad.
    that’s how our daddy god feels about us and i have to pray for the holy spirit to pound that gorgeous truth into my mind with a spiritual jackhammer! DAILY!

    we are, after all, only human.

    love
    suzee b

    Like

Leave a Reply

