Angry Birds

The angry birds game app for smart phones and  computers has gained a lot of popularity.  Have you played it yet?    You can down load a free version here:

http://www.google.com/chrome/intl/en/p/angrybirds.html?utm_campaign=en&utm_source=ha-en-na-us-webapp-angrybirds&utm_medium=ha

Beware if you decide to play;  this game can be very addictive.  I like to play occasionally, when I need to give my brain a rest.

Who thinks up these games anyway?  And how do they gain so much popularity?

I like Angry Birds because for the most part it’s pretty brainless.  The object of each level is to sling a bird ( yes, out of a sling shot) into a tower  (what are those things anyway?) and bring it down.  The player gets a few birds each turn with which to accomplish this task.  The beginning levels are very uncomplicated and easy to advance through, but the higher levels are much trickier to win.  I’ll be the first to admit I’ve gotten frustrated playing this game.  You can only try to pass a level so many times before you want to throw your phone.  And we all know throwing phones is a very bad idea.

Sometimes I have to take a breath and re-evaluate my strategy.  When I play it differently I often succeed.

Have you ever felt like you were banging your head against a wall spiritually?  Maybe you’ve prayed and prayed and not seen the answer.  When I was playing angry birds today I realized that I can’t always assume that what worked on the last level will work on the new one.  Some times you have to change your strategy.

I think this is true in matters of spiritual warfare too.  If you’ve prayed and prayed and not gotten breakthrough, it might be time for a new strategy. 

It’s easy to get stuck in a rut.  One of the things I love about Jesus is that he rarely plays the game the same way twice.  On one occasion he spits in the dirt, makes mud, and puts it on a blind man’s eyes and heals him.  Sometimes he healed with a word, and other times he wasn’t even with the sick person when He healed them.  Jesus simply saw what the Father was doing and did it. (John 5:19)

Life as a Christ follower is never boring.  One day the Father might be asking me to intercede, another day to worship, and another to declare into the atmosphere what I see  Him doing.  Recently I had a hard time shaking a heaviness in the atmosphere of a city I was visiting.   While I was on the treadmill in the hotel the Lord just had me raise my hands in worship.  It was a little stretching, but I figured anyone who might have seen me would have assumed it was a part of my exercise routine.  The heaviness lifted and I felt much better.

When it comes to spiritual warfare, getting the kings strategy is the only way to fly.  We will see cities and nations change on a dime when we get God’s heart for how to see His kingdom come on earth as it is in heaven. 

2 Corinthians 10:4

New International Version (NIV)

4 The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.

Prayer: Father God, help me see what you are doing and seek you for  wisdom and strategy in how to pray for the things that are on my heart.  Help us as a church to grow in our understanding of what you are doing and  show us how we can partner with you to see your kingdom come on earth.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

