Deep Roots

Camp on the  Boulder is the most significant place on earth for me.  It’s the place where I made a decision to follow Jesus, met my husband, became engaged and married.   Every time we go there I’m flooded with memories.     Over memorial weekend we had a scattering for my friend Teresa, who passed away in December.   After the service I noticed this tree with its visible root system by the river. 

I couldn’t help but think of Psalm 1 and the many hours Teresa and I spent by this river praying and reading the Bible. 

 “1 Blessed is the one
   who does not walk in step with the wicked
or stand in the way that sinners take
   or sit in the company of mockers,
2 but whose delight is in the law of the LORD,
   and who meditates on his law day and night.
3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
   which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
   whatever they do prospers.” (Psalm 1:1-3)

There are lots of  promises in these verses for the person who is delighting in God’s word.  For me it’s like drinking water and eating food.  I feel hungry if I don’t get my “word” meal for the day.  It’s living and active and refreshes my spirit.  Why seek counsel or wisdom from sources that do not satisfy?  Jesus and His word are the best things you can meditate on and fill your soul with. 

Prayer: Jesus,  help me be like this tree planted by streams of water; soaking in your word and presence.  Open my eyes as I read your word to understand it and apply it in my life so that I will be prepared in season and out of season,  deeply rooted and ready to give an answer to any one who might ask me the reason for the hope that is in me.

2 thoughts on “Deep Roots

Leave a Reply

