Bare Fruit

I was cutting up an apple yesterday and thought, ” I wish I had some caramel sauce to dip my slices in.”  We’re well fed, but I’ve had to be more conservative in my spending this past year.  Carmel sauce is a nice extra, but lots of extras can add up at the check out counter.  The income that was lost in the transition from my “paid” job to my now “volunteer” job has yet to be replaced.  Sometimes when God calls us out there is a season of testing that seems to ensue.

I read this encouraging quote from Pastor Bill Johnson yesterday:

“Anytime we emphasize the difficulty of obeying the will of God above the rewards and fruits of doing His will, we will have a victims approach to obedience. His will is glorious.”

Earlier in the day, I found myself starting to question God wondering why sometimes there are such difficult sacrifices when we obey Him.  If I let my self go too far down that line of thinking I’ll find my self in a pity party.  The rewards and the fruit of doing His will truly out weigh the difficulty. 

Bare fruit is not a sacrifice when I am bearing fruit!

Psalm 103:2-5 (NIV)

Praise the LORD, my soul,
   and forget not all his benefits—
3 who forgives all your sins
   and heals all your diseases,
4 who redeems your life from the pit
   and crowns you with love and compassion,
5 who satisfies your desires with good things
   so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

Prayer: Jesus thankyou for redeeming my life from the pit.  Forgive me for questioning your goodness to us.  I know that you are good and truly satisfy my desires with good things.  You are worthy of every sacrifice, and then some!

Leave a Reply

