Live While You’re Living

Knowing  life is short, and living like it is are two different things.  I’m realizing in a fresh way how easy it is to get caught up in the day-to-day routine and forget that I’m living for a future destination.  How I spend my minutes, hours, days, weeks, and years will  affect how I spend my eternity.  I’ve discovered  a new passion rising up in me this week to invest in what will last forever. 

Relationship with God and people is the most eternal investment I can make.   Little things can distract or take my focus off what’s most important.  Time can easily be wasted.  I’ve become more determined to prioritize and evaluate where my time and energy is being invested.  My campus pastor used to say, “Relationships are the currency in heaven.”   If that’s true, then I want to make a large investment now, knowing I’ll reap its reward later. 

Minutes become hours, hours become days, days become years.  How we spend our time is how we spend our life.  I want to invest my minutes in what will last for eternity.  Life’s short: Eat Cake! 

Philippians 2:1,2 (NAS)

1Therefore if there is any encouragement in Christ, if there is any consolation of love, if there is any fellowship of the Spirit, if any affection and compassion,  2make my joy complete by being of the same mind, maintaining the same love, united in spirit, intent on one purpose.

Prayer: Jesus help me to prioritize my life according to what’s most important and eternal.  Forgive me for my selfish, time wasting nature.  Open my eyes to see how you see, and be aware of what truly is the most valuable way to spend my time.

Leave a Reply

