Remember His Promises

Emma turned five this past week.  I can’t believe  it’s been five years since that life changing phone call.   I knew from the first day I held her she would be full of abundant life.  Any one who has spent more than five minutes with her now knows this is a proven fact.  On this bench mark birthday I’m remembering  God’s promise and His faithfulness.

When we took Emma we didn’t know if she would be ours forever or just  a season.  I’ve known many people who’ve had their hearts broken when a much hoped for child gets sent back.  We got her when she was only one day old, but it would be months before we would know the outcome.   It was the most stressful thing I’ve ever been through. 

One emotional day I remember sitting on the floor in our bedroom crying over the unknown.  Would she be sent back to her birth parents?  Would she be ours?  The future was uncertain.  Greg found me and immediately brought in our older adopted son.  He wanted to remind me that God had been faithful before and would be faithful again.  It was just what I needed. 

Our Father knows we can be forgetful, so He is kind to remind us of His faithfulness when we need it the most.

Psalm 86:15 (NIV)
But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.

Prayer: Father, thank you for your faithfulness.  Please forgive me for lacking trust at times.  Remind me of your faithfulness throughout my life, and help me to meditate on all your good works.  I also pray that you would help me to see your hand of faithfulness when the outcome is not what I had hoped for.  I know you are good all the time.

One thought on “Remember His Promises

  1. And what a blessing she is! I also love the picture frame Sharon Juel gave you at Emma’s baby shower. It was such a symbol of FAITH for His Faithfulness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

