Up Close

Last night I was looking at macro photos on Flickr and Photobucket.  I would love to learn this style of photography.  It’s amazing to see the detail of a flower up close. 

This photo was taken by a missionary I met in Kosovo, Mark Orfila.  I love the detail, color, and even action that’s happening in this photo.  Using the right techniques, a photographer can capture what’s  not possible with our own eyes.  The view is there, we just can’t see it with out help. 

I think there’s a part of our human nature that finds it easy to deny what we can not see.  For the longest time people believed  that germs didn’t exist.  It was only after they saw proof that their beliefs changed. 

 God  says,  “Faith…gives us assurance of things we cannot see.” (Heb 11:1 NLT)

I know that God sees me up close, but I’m not sure I always believe it.  When I fail and feel dirty and stained my human mind will tell me God has turned His face away from me.  The truth is;  He knows me inside and out and is still utterly amazed and in Love with every detail of who I am.

Psalm 139 (New Living Translation)

Psalm 139:1-6

For the choir director: A psalm of David.

 1 O Lord, you have examined my heart
      and know everything about me.
 2 You know when I sit down or stand up.
      You know my thoughts even when I’m far away.
 3 You see me when I travel
      and when I rest at home.
      You know everything I do.
 4 You know what I am going to say
      even before I say it, Lord.
 5 You go before me and follow me.
      You place your hand of blessing on my head.
 6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
      too great for me to understand!

Leave a Reply

