Anticipation

I had to laugh this week as I watched our dog Jack anticipate finishing off Owen’s breakfast.  He’s a good dog, but a dog none the less, often hanging around Owen at meal times waiting for a few left overs. 

Anticipation is something I can relate to.  In the course of my life I’ve felt positive and negative anticipation.  Not being a strong student, I often anticipated academic failures, which would lead to the anticipation of negative consequences…..a trip to the dean’s office, or having to repeat a class ( both of which happened more than once) 

This year I’ve been anticipating the good things that God wants to do.  An increase of miracles, provisions, and seeing more people discover a living relationship with Him.   For several months I’ve had a positive sence of anticipation about 2011.  Already it seems like we’ve entered into a new season in God.  I don’t know quite how to describe it.  It’s like an ease has come to step out and into His promises.   He’s renewing my hope and ability to pray for things I had almost lost hope for. 

Jack did eventually get Owen’s left overs.  I’m thinking that I won’t miss what God has either, if I continue to anticipate good things in His name. 

Psalm 33:20
We wait in hope for the LORD; he is our help and our shield.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, may I always put my hope in you.  Please re-new any place where I have lost hope, and teach me to hope and anticipate the many good things you will do in the coming months, years, and  life time.

Leave a Reply

