Times A Wastin’

2011 is here.  I’ve heard people say it feels like time goes faster the older you get.  All I know is that we only have one chance to live in each moment of each day.  Day’s turn into weeks, weeks into months and months into years.  At the end of our life we will reap a reward according to what we sowed into it.  I’ve been guilty of wasting time even though I try to avoid it as much as possible.  This year I want to invest my time strategically and purposefully into the things God has called me to.  I hope to be a better wife, mom, friend, and disciple.  This is a great time to reflect on the past year and  anticipate NEW beginnings in a NEW year. 

As I read about the tornadoes in the mid-west on New Year’s Eve, I was reminded that time is a common denominator.  Some are rich, some are poor, some live in the South and some in the North, but all of us are given 24 hours in a day.  I want to make my time count for eternity.   We don’t have many tornadoes in Montana and for some reason that has made me feel immune when they strike and kill in other states. The truth is that those who live in other states are made of the same flesh and blood as I am.  No one knows when disaster will strike.  It’s best to live each day as if it were your last.  Love, forgive, be generous.  Live on purpose.

Psalm 39:4 (New International Version, ©2010)

 4 “Show me, LORD, my life’s end
   and the number of my days;
   let me know how fleeting my life is.

Prayer: Lord Jesus thank you for the gift of time.  Help me number my days and make them count for eternity.

Leave a Reply

