The Gift Of Grace

This Christmas we gave and received many gifts.   Nathan got his first ipod (scary), Andrew got legos, Emma got a new winter coat, and Owen got a lego buzz lightyear toy which has been glued to his hand ever since.  Greg and I gifted each other well, although he gifted me better than I gifted him, which is the picture of grace. 

Grace = getting what we do not deserve.     If we were all perfect grace would not be necessary.    Without it I can’t survive, with it I can fulfill all my Father has destined me for.    There were numerous times this past week where grace was needed from God and others.  Staying with extended family for ten days would be impossible without a lot of grace.  We had to clean up puke on Christmas Eve at church, referee between two little boys, and fix a broken rocking chair.  Grace is the glue that holds us together. 

God’s grace has brought me this far and I know that it will be what carries me through 2011 and beyond. 

“This is what the LORD says— he who made a way through the sea, a path through the mighty waters, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” – Isaiah 43:16, 18-19

Prayer: Lord Jesus thank you for your grace.  Help me to receive it and give it to others.  Thank you that you don’t give us what we deserve, instead you gift us beyond our comprehension.   Your grace truly is amazing.

Leave a Reply

