Second Chances

Watching A Christmas Carol last night caused me think about my life and how I wish I could re-wind some parts of it.  A Christmas Carol is one of the most powerful illustrations of change and redemption I know of.  Charles Dickens painted the perfect picture of the miserly old man Scrooge.  We watched the 1999 version with Patrick Stewart.  I can’t remember if I’d ever watched that one before but  I liked it the most of any I’ve seen.  Stewart  plays the perfect Scrooge.  I was almost afraid of him. 

I’ve made a lot of good decisions in my life.  I married the right man, I’m doing my best to parent well, and serve God with all my heart.  However there’ve been and will be mistakes along the way.  I’m eternally grateful for the sacrifice of Jesus and the grace of God that covers my sin.  At the same time I’m careful in how I walk because I know in the future I will reap what I sow. 

Scrooge was given an opportunity to fix his future mistakes before he even made them and I realized so have I.  The Father has given me an amazing road map to live by.  As I meditate on His word and apply it I’m guaranteed that I’ll live a blessed life.  Scrooge was shown what his future would become if things did not change.  I’m given the same warnings in scripture.  If I choose to ignore what God says and do my own thing I’ll suffer the consequences, but if I follow His truth I’ll be blessed. 

BOOK I
Psalms 1:1-3

 1 Blessed is the one
   who does not walk in step with the wicked
or stand in the way that sinners take
   or sit in the company of mockers,
2 but whose delight is in the law of the LORD,
   and who meditates on his law day and night.
3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
   which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
   whatever they do prospers.

Prayer:  Jesus thank you for your redemption, for forgiving all my sin, and redeeming my failures.   Your mercies are new every morning.     I ask that you would reveal truth to me in a fresh way and give me grace to obey you at any cost.  Please remove any strongholds or wrong patterns of thinking.  I declare today that it is for freedom that you have set me free!

Leave a Reply

