Literal Translation

I love watching What Not To Wear on TLC.  If you’re not familiar with the premise,  it’s a make-over reality show.  An individual,  nominated by their friends or family, gets a surprise visit by Stacy and Clinton (show hosts). 

 The nominee has to agree to get rid of everything in their wardrobe in exchange for a $5000.00  shopping spree where they learn how to buy clothing that fits their style and body shape.  People who get nominated are often shocked.  Throwing away their clothes is  difficult, but the hardest thing for most people is learning to see them selves in a new light.

I love watching the transformation nominees experience.  Most of the time this is not only in their appearance, but also in their self-esteem.  Some times when a person looks good on the outside it translates to a better feeling of self-worth on the inside.  Sometimes, but not in an episode I recently saw.

After all  the new  outfits, hair, and makeup this nominee still did not appear to feel one tiny bit better about her self.   I could  tell she was enveloped in a cloud of self-hatred.  Stacy and Clinton felt bad for this woman, and so did I.  She could not translate the good thing happening on the outside as something good for her inside.

 I have two mirrors in my life that tell me who I am.  One is the mirror on my wall.  I can see my reflection and all my imperfections.  The other mirror is the Bible.  When I read who God say’s I am, it literally translates into a much better image. 

1 Peter 2:9
But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

Prayer: Thank you Father for making me in your image, and loving me beyond my comprehension.  Help me to literally translate your word into my heart and mind.  Let what you say about me over ride what my own thoughts or emotions try to tell me about my identity.

Leave a Reply

