Endurance

A new era began in our lives this last week when Andrew started wrestling.   We’ve known for a while that this is going to be our life with him.  All of the students at the kid’s school run and walk laps in the fall and spring to earn “toe tokens”.  This fall they ran 900 miles.  Andrew ran 30 of them.  I think that’s pretty impressive for a first grader.

Endurance is what he’s going to need to be a good athlete, and it’s what Greg and I need for this  phase of life.

The definition of endurance is : ” the ability or strength to continue or last, esp. despite fatigue, stress, or other adverse conditions; stamina:”

We started having children when I was 25.  I feel like I’ve been living with fatigue, stress, and other adverse conditions for over a decade.  Endurance is something I am  praying  for.  Finishing well in life and parenting is important to me.    Without physical and spiritual endurance it won’t be possible. 

Physical endurance comes from a healthy lifestyle, spiritual endurance comes from God.

Romans 15:5
May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other…..

Prayer: Lord please forgive me for trying to get by on my own strength.  Teach me to rely more on you, and wait for you to give me endurance that will enable me to run a strong race and finish well.

Leave a Reply

