Christmas Aroma

Today will be Christmas cookie baking day at my house.  I don’t bake as much as my Mom used to.  I stick to two kinds of cookies;  ginger snaps and peanut blossoms.  That’s it…just two kinds of cookies at Christmas in our house.   Hummm….I can’t wait for the smell of fresh-baked cookies!

Speaking of Christmas cookies, we enjoyed the annual Christmas stroll last Saturday.  It’s an annual event in Bozeman where 6,000 people leave their warm houses and go “stroll” down main street.  Owen screamed most of the time, “I WANT TO GO HOME!” , but everyone else enjoyed the time.  The best part is the free cookies and hot cider.  Did I mention the cider was HOT?

Christmas strolls, Christmas Trees, and Christmas cookies; the aroma of Christmas is everywhere.  I’m amazed by the gift of smell.  Many memories and even emotions are tied to various scents.  Today our home will be filled with the scent of Christmas, and I am praying that my life will be full of the aroma of Christ.

2 Corinthians 2: 14 (NIV)

“14 But thanks be to God, who always leads us as captives in Christ’s triumphal procession and uses us to spread the aroma of the knowledge of him everywhere. 15 For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ….”

Prayer: Jesus I pray that I will be the aroma of your love, life, and truth.  I pray that others will see you in me.  Thank you God for the gift of your son.  I am in awe of all you have given me through Jesus…most of all thank you for eternal life.

Leave a Reply

