24Hours

Most of the time  my  list of tasks far exceeds the amount of time I have in a day to accomplish it.  Some times I feel like the clock and calendar are my enemy.  This is a common denominator for all humans, we’ve all been given the same number of hours in a day.  Some are rich, some are poor, some are healthy, and some are sick, but all of us have only 24 hours in a day.  In December I think we all wish we could have more.  So much to do so little time.

I am feeling the “December push”  a bit.  There are Christmas cards to address, gifts to be made and purchased, children to raise, activities to attend….on and on the list goes.

Last night we decorated our Christmas tree (freshly cut by my husband yesterday).  It was not what I would define as an “enjoyable” experience.  The evening was filled with Andrew’s wrestling practice, Nathan’s home work, and Emma and  Owen  being too helpful digging through boxes.  My patience ran thin.   Feeling rushed and too busy will do that to me.  

These are the times I need to take a breath, say a prayer, and realize what is really most important.  24 hours, 7 days a week, 12 months a year, and only a  number of years is all I’ve been given. 

Psalm 39:4
“Show me, LORD, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting my life is.

Prayer: Lord forgive me for my impatience.  Help me to be more like you; Patient, loving, slow to anger, kind.   Thank you for the gift of each day.  I pray that I would live each one to its fullest and fulfill all you have created me for.

Leave a Reply

