Thirsty

  It’s the first week of December and we still do not have a Christmas Tree. Not that long ago we could  buy a nice fresh tree for under $20.00.  So far the least expensive tree we’ve seen was $30.00.  It’s not that we don’t enjoy cutting down a tree, we were just hoping to save some time.  Looks like we are going to have to save some money instead and take the time to head off into the mountains and cut one down.

I’m always amazed at how much water a tree can drink in the first day after you bring it home. 

When a water source is lost, plants and people can become very thirsty.  I happened to be in Eastern Europe when the group of terrorists were arrested with water bottles they were going to use to make explosives.  The security was very tight that week and no water bottles were allowed on the plane, not even ones purchased in the air port.  The airline did their best to serve us little cups of water on the long flight over the Atlantic, but it was a small percentage of what I normally drink on an overseas flight.  When I got home I felt thirsty for three days.  I could drink and drink and still not feel hydrated.

Thirst is a good thing.  It drives us to a water source. 

Isaiah 55:1
[ Invitation to the Thirsty ] “Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost.

Prayer: Thank you Jesus for being my soul and spirit source for living water.  Thank you for the invitation to come to you today.  I know that when I come you will bless me with living water.  Fill me today, with more of your Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

