Hoodie Season

I’ve been wearing hoodie sweatshirts  more often in past twelve months.  Just over a year ago I resigned from my position at our church.  I felt a stirring to focus on hosting women’s events and conferences and be home more.  There was some pride in having that job.  I got to go to a nice office and wear my “office” outfits.  Now my outings consist of trips to Wal-Mart, and the thrift store.  The season has changed, and therefore so has my wardrobe.

 At times I really miss my job, my paycheck, and dressing up.   In this new season I am learning to be grateful.  Yesterday Greg and I got to ski at Big Sky for their $20.00 day.  It was such a blessing to be outside with my husband and friends enjoying the beautiful mountains.  I realized how lucky I am to live in Bozeman.  I live minutes from three amazing ski resorts.  It’s a great town and a beautiful place to live.  I love my friends and church family here.  The schools are amazing and there are tons of activities for kids all the time.

This is a perspective I need to keep when I feel depressed about not having as much spending money, or being able to afford my dream house. 

Philippians 4:12
“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”

I will choose to be thankful in this season, enjoy my hoodies, and praise God in every circumstance.

Prayer: Lord give me the gift of being grateful.  Help me to learn Paul’s secret of contentment in every situation.  Thank you for your abundant blessings in my life.

Leave a Reply

